The Deck of Many Decks

In my search for the perfect tarot deck… before I rediscovered the Morgan Greer deck, I was in a quandry. I had several decks where I really liked lots of the cards but really didn’t like the others. For instance, the Fool card in the Anna K deck is probably my very favorite fool of all (I do wish he had a dog companion, but heck you can’t have everything!) And I like many of the Anna K cards but there are quite a few I just don’t care for. The Witches Tarot is another deck. A lot of the cards are really nice and follow along with the Rider-Waite traditions but some of them are completely off that track and I didn’t care for that. Since my intention all along was to find a deck I could be comfortable enough to pull out and use in front of other people to practice and really learn tarot once and for all… I wanted to start at the beginning and learn with a deck close to the Rider-Waite tradition. Then there is the Mystic Faerie Tarot. I love the images on all these cards but the minors have a completely different “story” than Rider-Waite.

Then there are the dreaded Devil and Death cards. If the devil is okay in one deck it seemed like I didn’t care for most of the other cards, if I liked most of the cards in a deck, most of the time the devil was freakin’ scary. Hanson-Roberts is like that for me. Playing with the cards in front of someone that I think has doubts about the “evilness or wrongness” of tarot cards… and coming up with the Hanson-Roberts devil I imagine would put them over the edge. Creepy-Creepy. (Since that was the only card I just couldn’t deal with in that deck, I took a white-out pen and made the creepy devil disappear – which helped.) Death cards generally aren’t the most friendly, and some decks are better than others.

Not having happened apon the Morgan Greer deck yet… I decided to be an absolute rebel and make a deck out of all the best of the decks I had… at least the ones with similar size. Most of my decks were the same size except for the Anna K and that deck was wider across. So I got out my scissors and trim, trim, trimmed. And Voila, I had a new deck.

I know, I know, the backs would all be different. How could I possible use a deck with all those different backs… wouldn’t I be able to guess what card was coming up? Well, maybe. But generally, I shuffle the deck three time by the riffle method and just use the top cards one right after another. So what, if I might happen to guess what the cards were before I turned them face up. I would be turning them face up sometime and it is not like the backs would change how I shuffled the cards… or what order they ended up in.

And the truth is, I probably never would have used these decks on thier own. Although it is not the deck I am using now for my practices… it is a deck I see myself using, sometime.

For now I am really loving the Morgan Greer deck. I just love the way the artist portrayed the people. They seem so warm and inviting. And the colors are really nice. There are only two cards I really don’t like, Strength and of course, the Devil. The lion on the Strength card is not my cup of tea. I know it is a stylized lion but I just hate how it looks… I have so many other Strength cards with awesome lions… why couldn’t the lion be more like the traditional maned lion? I would swap that card out in a minute if it wasn’t for the brave lass taming that very lion. She is beautiful, the card is beautiful, it matches the beauty of the entire deck… As much as I reeeeeaaaaaallllllyyyyyyy don’t like that lion I can’t disrupt this gorgeous deck because of that one element. As for the devil, I guess I will keep it for now… but that one really does have the chance of being swapped out!

Leave a Reply

